3rd Post

To start, I’d just like to address how weird it feels to submit a blog post to a teacher. The writing here is so much more informal and personal compared to the writing on any other assignment. I talk on this blog in a way I’d probably never talk in front of a teacher, though that’s mostly because I’m too awkward when I can’t organize, edit, and straight up delete my thoughts like I can online. Plus I’m already used to sharing my thoughts and feelings online, so this just feels natural to me.

Yesterday I pitched my project to my teacher and it took a while after to calm down. My mouth was really strangely dry and all I wanted to do was make myself as unnoticeable as possible. But I’m glad now I have that and the after-school pitch/gallery walk out of the way, so now it’s all just writing until the oh so dreaded “Ted Talk.”

I should probably talk about the after school part, too. It  was ok. I mean at first it was weird cause some people had their family there taking pictures by their boards and I was just standing there like… “ok.” It took about 30 minutes for someone to finally come ask a question, and after that I got a few people. Though the only question most people asked me was “What’s the story about?” which I get, but it got boring just repeating the same answer over and over, especially since it’s just about the only thing I said. I felt like a scratched record, just repeating the same thing like 5 times. I really appreciated the people who stopped by and recommended a book or talked about their own book-writing projects though.

The last thing I really feel the need to talk about is the actual writing. I’m gonna start tonight, which I’m looking forward to. I want to write during my lab time in school too, but I really don’t like writing where people can peek at my screen and read it. It’s weird but it makes me uncomfortable. I might just start bringing my computer to school and find a more private hidden place to write, or just look for an empty corner in the labs. Its distracting when I feel like people are reading while I’m writing and makes it hard to find that kind of “flow.” I’ll just have to deal with it as it happens, I guess. I hope I have enough to talk about here after this.

Leave a Reply

