Pantsing.

I never realized how much I missed writing. I don’t know why I ever stopped. I can make these people in my mind do absolutely anything I want. I just made one back-flip across a counter, in fact. It’s not part of the story but I did anyway.

There’s this one book that I’ve reread a few times, Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, where the main character is a writer as well, and whenever I read it I desperately want to write. Now that I finally am again I’m actually kind of mad at myself for never actually following through with that desire. I’ve definitely found my flow now, no denying it. There’s no stopping this story from happening. I used to worry that I wouldn’t know what to do and get stuck a lot, but almost every word I write leads to a new idea for what should happen next. I remember when I was looking up tips for aspiring writers I learned that this kind of writing was called “pantsing,” which basically is the shortened version of “writing by the seat of your pants.” The alternative to this kind of writing is planned writing where you’ve outlined your story, details ranging from “just enough” to “meticulously cultivated.” While I did do some outlining and planning before the actual writing it really wasn’t that much, especially since I only had about a month to do so whereas most who outline take several months to several years, even.

I really don’t have much else to add this week, since almost everything I had to say was in the blog post I submitted earlier today (which should have been made two weeks ago (thank you Thanksgiving break)), so I think I’ll keep it short n’ sweet and end it here.

Leave a Reply

