X

The final blog posting.

After this I have to make sure all of my static pages are up to my standards and that’s it.

I guess I should talk about the “Ted Talk” I had to do. I really don’t remember much except that I looked at my paper way more than I should have. Was I swaying like I usually do when I stand? Don’t know, can’t remember. Did the class clap for me when I was done? I mean probably, since they did for everyone else. All I can remember is I got up, my mouth went dry as soon I was standing, and I spoke and kept awkwardly looking between my paper and teacher. Then I sat back down in my seat and had to try and stop myself from shaking.

Enough of that though. I’d like to forget all of what I do remember as soon as possible. Since this is the final blog posting maybe I should reflect on what I did and learned, and talk about what I’d like to do after.

Almost all of what I learned and how I feel about the project was in my talk, but the important parts were: I didn’t finish but don’t feel bad. I don’t feel bad because I learned what it’ll mean if I pursue writing as an actual career. I understand that I’m not likely to be the next John Green with a smash hit, so the project really showed me how difficult it is to divide your time well enough to do everything you have to, while giving yourself time to have a social life and have some fun. Another really important lesson is that I need to devote more time to planning, development, and outlining, since if you don’t at least have a vague enough idea of what you want to happen five scenes later, you’re probably going to get stuck.

After this I know I’d like to continue to write. The other reason I don’t feel bad that I didn’t reach my goal is because I remembered how much fun writing was. I don’t know if I’m going to jump right back into writing this story, but I’m not throwing the idea out. I’ll probably just set it aside to develop it more, and focus on things that I have a better feel for.

I don’t really know what else to say. I kind of wanted this to be all dramatic and meaningful, but it just kinda turned into this instead, kind of like most things in life I guess.

I should probably go make sure my static pages are good enough.

Happy Friday the 13th.

Leave a Reply

